Advocacy for NM School Libraries

Special Interest Group Advocating for Excellence in New Mexico School Libraries

Winter Workshop Set! “Unlocking ESSA and Our Potential”


The leadership of Advocacy for School Libraries Special Interest Group is very excited and pleased to announce that Allison Roots Lewis will be representing the American Association of School Libraries and presenting a workshop on the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) and how we can work with our legislators and local leadership, including a collaboration time where we can create a plan to get our “seat at the table.” The workshop will be on January 7th from 9:00 – 1:00 in the Las Cruces High School’s beautiful new library which was featured in a recent issue of “American Library Journal”.

At the NMLA Conference, I did a very short presentation about ESSA and exactly where we can get involved. Here is the link to my presentation, which was actually created by AASL and edited by me: connecting-essa-to-school-libraries. Please take the time to visit the AASL website on ESSA at On that website, you will find position statements and helpful documents for you to take to your district leaders. Start planning now and asking to be a part of the ESSA team for your district! School libraries play a very important role in this.


Kathryn Lewis

Kathryn Roots Lewis is the Director of Media Services and Instructional Technology for Norman Public Schools in Norman, Oklahoma.  In this capacity, her areas of responsibility include oversight, planning, management, professional development, and financial responsibility for instructional materials, instructional technology, and libraries.  She has been a school teacher and librarian at all levels. Kathryn is the Project Director for an IMLS National Leadership Grant. She serves on the American Association of School Librarians (AASL) Standards and Guidelines Editorial Board. She was named as a member of the first LILEAD Fellow group, a national professional development program for school library supervisors. Kathryn serves as Region 6 Director on the AASL Board of Directors. She is on the Oklahoma Technology Association Board and is a past president of the organization. Kathryn was recognized with the 2013 University of Oklahoma School of Library and Information Studies Outstanding Alumni Award, the ISTE Making IT Happen Award, Oklahoma’s 2012 Outstanding Technology Leader, and the 2010 Oklahoma Library Association (OLA) Library Legend.   Kathryn is a Past Chair of the AASL Supervisors Section and a Past President of OLA. Kathryn has authored numerous articles and blogs including co-writing the AASL/Achieve document, Implementing the Common Core State Standards: The Role of the School Librarian Action Brief.

I am so very excited about this opportunity for New Mexico School Librarians. Please plan to attend! I can’t promise warm weather, but I can promise warmER weather than you have in the north!

To register, fill out the form at this link and submit: 2017 Winter Workshop Registration


posted under Uncategorized

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Statement of Purpose:  Our purpose is to promote the achievement of excellence in New Mexico school libraries

Objectives as related to Goals of the Association

  1. Provide leadership to initiate, maintain, and enhance library legislation and act on political issues affecting school library interests.
  2. Provide and support educational opportunities for school library personnel.
  3. Communicate the role and value of school libraries and librarian-teachers.
  4. Support and improve networking among school librarians in New Mexico.
  5. Support and promote literacy initiatives for youth including, but not limited to, the Land of Enchantment.

Join the ASL-SIG!


Chair: Lorie Mitchell, Carlsbad High School/Carlsbad Municipal Schools Librarian
Vice-Chair: Heather Christiansen, Portales High School Librarian
Past-Chair: Linda Keulen

Leadership Committee

Ken Holmes, Los Alamos
Jackie Dean, Las Cruces
Kyla Johnson, Farmington
Marian Royal-Vigil, Albuquerque
Rachel Altobelli, Albuquerque
Kim Baranay, Las Cruces